Settling on an idea

These past few days I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not going to get anywhere soon unless I settle on an idea. Once I make a decision I can start to dream about, envisage and debate who my audience should be, how I can attract this audience and how I can best enhance their experience. I have been trying to think of this project as a whole but have since realised that it is a methodical process – baby steps!

So, I’ve decided on the fascinating character of Rasputin. After studying the Romanov dynasty is school, I think I would enjoy delving into the life and times of Rasputin and because of this enthusiasm and passion for this period of history I will be able to create a project that is well-planned and successful in its purpose.

“The Mad Monk”

He has always been someone I want to know more about, so hopefully the development of this project will be as beneficial for me as it will be for the user.

This morning I spent some time reading aboutthe life of Rasputin, browsing many internet sites for initial information that will help me develop my understanding of the so-called “mad monk”.

In summary, the sites that I have so far come across describe Rasputin as a creepy, mysterious and egotistical figure that had an unprecedented hold over Tsar Nicholas II and his wife Alexandra. Subsequently, Rasputin is perceived to have played an influential role in Russian politics during one of the most tumultuous periods of its history – the fall of the Romanov dynasty and the rise of communist Russia.

With the fictionalisation of the story of Anastasia, the infamous monk is often overlooked, misrepresented and his personal history taken for granted. The grounds for this project now partially emerge:- to present a view of Rasputin that is more accurate than those previous.

In the past, the character of Rasputin has been sensationalised for the purpose of entertainment, exemplified by the Boney M classic “Rasputin”.

The song and its lyrics provide a short and sweet insight into the life of Rasputin. But just how much of these Boney M lyrics are true? It is no credible historical source… Quite clearly, some more reading and investigation is needed.

About Jessica Hynes

This globe-trotter has spent the last few years travelling the world in search beautiful landscapes, good food and even better wine. From Nepal’s highest peaks to Bolivia’s salt flats, Jess has an undying appreciation for nature. A born and bred Sydneysider, she has a close connection with the ocean and is passionate about protecting it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

